Sri Lanka

Final 23 authorities vote today


The last of the local government elections takes place today for 23 local government bodies consisting of 17 municipal councils and five Pradeshiya Sabhas (similar to Parish Councils).

A total of 1,589,622 voters will be eligible to vote across 1,167 polling stations open from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.. There are 6,488 candidates standing for 420 seats.

The most important contest will take place in Colombo where 393,000 voters will be voting for a new Mayor and members of the 53 seat Colombo Municipal Council.

The main contenders for the Colombo mayoral seat are A.J.M. Muzammil of the main opposition United National Party (UNP) and Milinda Moragoda of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA). Colombo has traditionally been a UNP stronghold but the UPFA government is hoping that Moragoda, a 2007 defector from the UNP, will give them a chance of taking the city.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact