Final results of Legislative Chamber elections


Following the second round of voting last Sunday (4th January) the final results of the Uzbek general election have been announced by the country’s Central Election Commission (CEC). The first round took place on 21st December 2014.

The Liberal Democratic Party of Uzbekistan (UzLiDeP) emerged as the top party once more with 52 seats (-1) whilst the Milliy Tiklanish Democratic Party of Uzbekistan took 36 seats (+5). The People’s Democratic Party of Uzbekistan (NDPU) won 27 seats (-5) and the Adolat Social-Democratic Party of Uzbekistan won 20 seats (+1). A special ‘green’ quota of 15 seats was elected for and by the Ecological Movement of Uzbekistan at their convention on 21st December 2014.

Turnout was 76.93%. Only four parties are recognised by the government and all four are supportive of the President.

Following the election to the 150 seat Legislative Chamber, elections to the 100 seat upper house or Senate will take place on 13/14th January. The Senate is indirectly elected by an Electoral College made up of members of local councils, with the country’s 14 regions consisting of 12 provinces plus the capital of Tashkent and the semi-autonomous Republic of Karakalpakstan each electing six Senators. Another 16 members of the Senate are appointed by the Uzbek President.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact