Five states may delay elections by a year


A court ruling may lead to five state governors being exempted from standing at this April’s polls.  A court ruling yesterday (23rd February 2011) agreed with the state governors that because they all fought re-runs a year after the 2007 election they may not be due for re-election until 2012.

The five states are Bayelsa and Cross River states in the southern Niger Delta, Kogi and Adamawa in central Nigeria and Sokoto in the north.

Opposition parties will appeal against the ruling.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact