Four candidates to contest by election


Four candidates will contest a by-election on 15th May in the Sino district of the capital Dushanbe following a vacancy created when Deputy Shermahmad Shohiyon was appointed head of the Central Commission for Elections and Referenda (CCER).

The four candidates are:

Amirqul Azimov nominated from the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDPT)
Muzaffar Mirzoyev nominated from the Agrarian Party (APT)
Tolibshoh Saidzoda an independent who is editor-in-chief of the Dushanbe weekly Millat (Nation)
Safarbek Mannonov an independent who is deputy director of the National Medical Center

The by-election is for a seat in the lower chamber, the Majlisi Namoyandagon, which has 63 deputies.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com