General Election on 4th October


President Almazbek Atambayev has signed a decree setting the date for a general election as 4th October.

Elections to the 120 seat Jogorku Kenesh or Supreme Council last took place on 10th October 2010. At that election Ata-Zhurt or Fatherland, the party of former President Kurmanbek Bakiyev (2005 – 2010) won 28 seats. President Almazbek Atambayev’s party, the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK), came second with 26 seats and Ar-Namys or Dignity came third with 25 seats.

A newly formed party, Respublika Party of Kyrgyzstan, came fourth with 23 seats and the Ata-Meken (Fatherland) Socialist Party was the final party to enter parliament with 18 seats.

Prior to the 2010 elections, in the April President Kurmanbek Bakiyev was ousted and in a subsequent referendum the people opted to do away with a presidential system and revert to a parliamentary system. The general election followed on from that decision.

Respublika, SDPK and Ata-Zhurt went on to form a coalition government which has drawn the country more into the sphere of its old alliance with the Russian Federation. On 21st May 2015 Kyrgyzstan joined the Russian-led Eurasian Economic Union (EEU).

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact