General election today


A general election takes place today to decide who will be the new president and to elect 220 members of the National Assembly.

Around 10,349 polling stations will be open between 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. for the 9.7 million registered voters. Results are expected to be announced from late tomorrow.

There are nine parties standing in the election but the People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola – Labour Party (MPLA) is expected to sweep back into power with incumbent president José Eduardo dos Santos standing at the head of the list.

The leader of the largest party is the person who is declared as president. Of the 220 seats, 130 are elected from a closed list proportional representation system and 90 are elected from 18 five member constituencies.

At the last general election in 2008 the MPLA won 191 of the 220 seats in the National Assembly. The National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) came second with 16 seats and three other parties took the remaining seats.

José Eduardo dos Santos has been the incumbent president since 1979 and there is a growing opposition as the country grows richer on major mineral and oil and gas reserves but the population is still considered very poor. Most observers do not expect there to be any major change at this election, but a growing youth vote against the MPLA may make its presence felt.

Subscribers can find the MPLA manifesto under the Angola country page and links. We were unable to source the manifestos for other parties, but will publish them if they become available.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact