United Kingdom

Gibraltar holds general election


The British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar is holding a general election today. A total of 22,400 voters will select from the candidates of three parties; 30 candidates are standing for the seventeen seat parliament. Voters are entitled to have up to ten votes, therefore parties traditionally stand only ten candidates in the election.

The Gibraltar Social Democrats (GSD) under the Chief Minister Peter Caruana have been in power for 15 years, but are likely to lose today to a coalition of the Gibraltar Socialist Labour Party (GSLP) and Gibraltar Liberal Party (collectively known as the GSLP/Liberals).

The most recent poll puts the centre left GSLP/Liberals of Fabian Picardo on 52% of the vote, up from 45.49% in the 2007 general election. The GSD are on 43% of the vote, down from 49.33% in the 2007 poll. A third party, the Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) has just 5% of the vote.

Polling stations will be open from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time and results are expected early on Friday.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com