United Kingdom

Gibraltar votes today


The British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar is holding a general election today. There are seventeen seats in Gibraltar’s parliament

Although voters receive a ballot paper with all the candidates listed separately, there are political parties and each voter can vote for ten candidates.

In the December 2011 election the centre-left Gibraltar Socialist Labour Party (GSLP) won seven seats and its leader, Fabian Picardo, became Chief Minister.

The centrist Liberal Party of Gibraltar won three seats and went into coalition with the Labour Party.

The centre-left Gibraltar Social Democrats (GSD) took the remaining seven seats.

A recent opinion poll suggested that the GSLP and Liberals, who are standing on a joint platform this time, will take around 67% of the vote with the GSD on 33%. The GSLP are putting up seven candidates and the Liberals are standing three candidates. The GSD is standing ten candidates.

The 14 polling stations will be open from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time for the approximately 26,500 voters and results are expected early on Friday.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com