Grande Comore selects three candidates for Presidential election second round


Grande Comore voters have selected their three candidates in the first round of the presidential election which took place on Sunday (21st February 2016).

Since a new constitution was introduced in 2002 the three main islands of Comoros have taken it in turns to nominate the presidential candidates in accordance with Article 13 of the constitution. In 2006 Ahmed Abdallah Mohamed Sambi from Anjouan (Ndzwani) was elected and then in 2010 it was Ikililou Dhoinine from Mohéli (Mwali). So in 2016 the presidential candidate will come from the island of Gran Comore.

The next round on 18th April (some sources are saying 10th April) will see around 275,348 eligible voters across the islands voting for the top three candidates from an original field of fifteen candidates. The Vice-President of Comoros, Mohamed Ali Soilihi of the Union for the Development of the Comoros (UPDC), came top of the poll in the first round with 17.61% of the vote. In second place was the Governor of Grande Comore, Mouigni Baraka representing the Democratic Rally of the Comoros (RDC), who took 15.09%. The third place candidate is former coup leader and President Azali Assoumani of the Convention for the Renewal of the Comoros (CRC) who took 14.96%.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact