Indirect elections to Senate announced


3283 deputies of maslikhats (local government bodies) voted to elect 16 deputies to the 47 member Senate yesterday.

There were 39 candidates for the 16 places and the preliminary results as published by the Trend News Agency are as follows:

Astana – Vladimir Redkokashin (about 91.7 percent),
Almaty – Ahan Bizhanov (88.2 percent)
Akmola region – Toad Ergaliev (84.6 percent)
Aktobe region – Yeleusin Sagindikov (90.8 percent)
Almaty region – Lazzat Turlashov (94.3 percent)
Atyrau region – Kairat Ishchanov (66.4 percent)
East Kazakhstan region – Talgatbek Abaydildin (89.7 percent)
Zhambyl region – Ertargyn Astana (90.8 percent)
West Kazakhstan region – Rashid Akhmetov (86.9 percent)
Karaganda region – Serik Akylbay (94.6 percent)
Kostanai region – Zhenis Nurgaliyev (92.4 percent)
Kyzylorda region – Murat Mukhamedov (81.3 percent)
Mangistau region – Baktybay Chelpekov (98.2 percent)
Pavlodar region – Askhat Kuzekov (91.3 percent)
North-Kazakhstan region – Samat Eskendirov (82.5 percent)
South Kazakhstan region – Kuanysh Aytahanov (81.9 percent).

The Senate, which is the upper house of the parliament has 47 deputies of which 32 are elected in twos from each oblast (an administrative division or region), major city and the capital. Half of the deputies are renewed every three years whilst the remaining 15 are appointed by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com