Islam Karimov expects to be re-elected today for a fourth term


A total of 20,798,520 eligible voters will go to the 9,016 polling stations in Uzbekistan today to elect a new President. A further 44 polling stations were opened in Embassies across the world for Uzbek citizens. Voting began at 6 a.m. local time and will close at 8 p.m.

The Presidential election is being held according to a new constitutional law which requires them to take place 90 days after parliamentary elections. Elections to the Legislative Chamber were held over two-rounds on 23rd December 2014 and 4th January 2015.

Incumbent President Islam Karimov has held power since 1990 and it is unlikely that there will be any change today. The other three legal parties were all approved by the President and are supportive of the President and his government. The other three presidential candidates, when campaigning, have praised the efforts of the incumbent President. In the last Presidential election in 2007 Islam Karimov won 90.77% of the vote.

The four candidates standing are:

Islam Karimov; Liberal Democratic Party (UzLiDeP)

Khatamjan Ketmanov; People’s Democratic Party (PDPU)

Nariman Umarov; Justice Social Democratic Party (ADOLAT)

Akmal Saidov; Milliy Tiklanish Democratic Party

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact