Khadga Prasad Oli elected Prime Minister


K. P. Sharma Oli (Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli), the chairman of the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) (CPN–UML) has been elected the first Prime Minister of Nepal under the new constitution passed several weeks ago by parliament; he is also the 38th Prime Minister of the country.

Oli won the election with 338 of the 587 votes cast in the election held by parliamentarians. Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala came second with 249 votes.

Khadga Prasad Oli (63) became politically active in 1966 and joined the Communist Party of Nepal in February, 1970. A party activist he was imprisoned for 14 years between 1973 and 1987. Oli had been Deputy Prime Minister since February 2014 and was originally elected to the Pratinidhi Sabha in 1991. He was then elected to the Constituent Assembly in 2008.

During his time as a parliamentarian Oli has been Home Minister (1994/95) and was Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs during the interim government in 2006.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact