Labor expected to win Victoria Legislative Assembly election today


A total of 3,781,696 voters are expected to vote at 1,784 polling stations today in the elections for the 88 seats in the Victoria state Legislative Assembly and 40 seats in the Legislative Council. Voting is compulsory.

In the 2010 election the Liberal/National Coalition won 45 seats and Labor won 43 seats. This time Labor is doing much better with around 52% of the vote and is expected to triumph across this south-eastern state. Many people are saying that it is a vote against the federal Prime Minister and Liberal/National coalition leader Tony Abbott.

The ruling centre-right Liberal/National Coalition minority government is led by Premier Denis Napthine and the centre-left opposition Australian Labor Party is led by Daniel Andrews.

Polling stations are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact