Liberal National Coalition win New South Wales


The Liberal-National Coalition led by Barry O’Farrell have won the New South Wales State election with a swing of around 17%, the largest in Australian history.

Final results have yet to be published, but the Liberal-National Coalition have taken around 47 seats in the 93 seat lower house, up ten seats on their 2007 tally.  Meanwhile the Labor Party have dropped to around 17 seats down from their 50 seat tally in 2007.

The election is a massive blow to federal (Australian) Prime Minister and Labor Party leader Julia Gillard who now has a powerful state threatening to challenge her government on a range of measures.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact