Liberals win in Newfoundland and Labrador general election


The Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador, a wing of the Liberal Party of Canada won a comprehensive victory in yesterday’s general election for the 40 seats in the General Assembly.

Prior to the election the Progressive Conservatives held 28 seats (37 in 2011 when the General Assembly had 48 seats), but lost 21 seats to hold just seven seats in the new parliament. The Liberals won 15 seats to go up to 31 seats, making them the new majority party. The New Democratic Party picked up the remaining two seats.

Dwight Ball is the Premier-designate.

The federal Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau published the following statement on the prime minister’s website:

“Statement by the Prime Minister of Canada on the results of the Newfoundland and Labrador election

Ottawa, Ontario

30 November 2015

The Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, today issued the following statement on the results of the provincial election in Newfoundland and Labrador:

“Newfoundlanders and Labradorians have chosen to elect a majority government led by the Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador.

“On behalf of our government, I would like to convey my sincerest congratulations to Dwight Ball on his election victory.

“I look forward to working with the new government of Newfoundland and Labrador to create jobs, grow our economy, strengthen our middle class, bolster health care services, improve the well-being of Indigenous peoples, and safeguard our environment.

“I believe that confronting our collective challenges can only be achieved by sitting down together and engaging in open dialogue, and I look forward to the opportunity to work with Premier-designate Ball.

“I would also like to thank the outgoing Premier, Paul Davis, for his many years of public service.”

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact