Local elections today


Local elections are taking place today in three cities, Tokmak, Osh and Karakol as well as 13 districts across the country today. Polling stations opened at 8 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m. local time.

The 24 Press Club News Agency reports that the elections are taking place in the following councils:

Beshkent, Margun village councils (Lyailyak district, Batken province), Kok-Irim, Atai village councils (Toguz-Torousky district, Jalal-Abad province), Baetovsky, Tereksky, Konorchoksky, Dzherge-Talsky village councils (Ak-Tal district, Naryn province), Kuiruchuksky, Tugol-Saisky, Tash-Dobonsky, Chaeksky, Kyzyl-Dzhyldyzsky village councils (Dzhumgal district, Naryn province), Karakol city council (Issyk-Kul province), Tokmak city council (Chuy province), Osh city council (Osh province).

A further three councils will hold their elections on 24th March.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact