Ma and KMT win


Incumbent president Ma Ying-jeou has won a second term in office and his party the Kuomintang (KMT) has won a majority in the Legislative Yuan.

Ma Ying-jeou took 51.6% of the vote, beating off his Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) challenger, Tsai Ing-wen who took 45.6%.

In the Legislative Yuan the KMT managed to secure 64 seats, although that is a drop of 17 seats from their 81 seats secured in the 2008 election. The DPP went up by 13 seats, taking a total of 40 seats in the new parliament.

Three smaller parties also secured seats; the People First Party (PFP) and the Non-Partisan Solidarity Union, both part of the KMT’s Pan Blue Coalition won seats, whilst the Taiwan Solidarity Union, part of the DPP’s Pan Green Coalition also won seats.

In all the KMT took 47.58% of the vote and the DPP took 36.98% of the vote. Turnout was 74.72%.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com