Mayors elections in 19 cities


The Central Election Commission (CEC) has set a date of 27th August for Mayoral elections in 19 cities. The report in the 24 News Agency feed does not say which cities.

Meanwhile, 54 people have submitted nominations for the presidency, the election for which will take place on 30th October. The submissions come from individuals and also from nine political parties.

Candidates for the nine parties are:

Communist Party of Kyrgyzstan (KPK); Iskhak Masaliev
Ata-Zhurt; Kamchybek Tashiyev
Butun Kyrgyzstan; Adakhan Madumarov
Green Party; Erkin Bulekbayev
El Uchun; Arstanbek Abdyldayev
Egemen Kyrgyzstan; Bektur Asanov
Working Party of Kyrgyzstan; Zamirbek Parmankulov
Ata Meken (Fatherland) Socialist Party; Omurbek Tekebayev
Erkin Kyrgyzstan Progressive and Democratic Party; Tursunbay Bakir uulu.

The deadline for nominations is 16th August and campaigning will start on 25th September.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact