MPLA win again


The People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola – Labour Party (MPLA) won the general election held on Friday with 74.14% of the vote according to the National Electoral Commission (CNE).

Under a new constitution passed in 2010 that means that incumbent president José Eduardo dos Santos who heads the MPLA list is re-elected as president; he first took office in 1979.

Nine parties stood in the election with the MPLA taking 3,131,615 votes and 74.14%. Their closest rivals, the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) took 751,862 votes and 17.8% of the vote. The Broad Convergence of National Salvation – Election Coalition (Convergência Ampla de Salvação de Angola, CASA-CE) came third with 197,444 votes and 4.67% of the vote.

Although no turnout figures have been officially announced, based upon the votes recorded the turnout appears to have been around 46.3%.

The country remained calm despite previous accusations by the opposition of vote fixing and spokespersons for the largest parties saying that they would study the results before giving their reaction.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact