New dates for Shura elections


Field Marshall Hussein Tantawi has issued a new decree replacing article II of Resolution 200 for 2011 which concerns the dates and places for the Shura or upper house.

The election will be brought forward by several weeks and will be held in two phase and not three as was originally planned.

Phase One will now take place on 29th and 30th January with a runoff if needed on 7th February.

Phase Two will take place on 14th and 15th February with a runoff if needed on 22nd February.

The state newspaper Al Ahram is reporting that Phase One will take place in 13 provinces including, Alexandria, Assiyut, Cairo, Dakahlia, Damietta, Faiyoum, Gharbia, Monufia, New Valley, North Sinai, South Sinai, Qena and Red Sea.

Phase Two will be in 14 provinces including, Aswan, Beheira, Beni Suef, Giza, Ismailia, Kafr El-Sheikh, Luxor, Matruh, Minya, Port Said, Qalyubia, Sharquiya, Sohag and Suez.

The first meeting of the new Shura is expected to take place on 28th February.

The move by the head of the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF) will mean that the writing of a new constitution will be brought forward as will the opportunity to proceed with the presidential election.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact