Opposition boycotts Presidential election with incumbent expected to win


Incumbent President Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz is expected to win the Presidential election which takes place today with a second round runoff slated for 5th July if required.

The greatest problem the President faces is a potential low turnout. The National Forum for Democracy and Unity (FNDU) which includes the Coordination of Democratic Opposition (COD), a group of 17 political parties along with civil society organizations has decided to boycott the election.

Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz won the 2009 election with 52.58% of the vote a year after he had taken over in the 2008 coup d’├ętat. His five year term runs out on 5th August.

The President gathers his strength from the army and with a weak field of candidates standing against him the result seems inevitable.

There are 1.3 million eligible voters who will be able to vote between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. local time for five candidates listed below in the order in which they appear on the ballot paper.

Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz; Union for the Republic (UPR)

Boydiel Ould Houmeid; El Wiam party

Lalla Meryem Mint Moulaye Idriss; Independent

Birame Dah Abeid; Initiative for the Resurgence of the Abolitionist Movement in Mauritania (IRA-Mauritania)

Ibrahima Moctar Sarr; Alliance for Justice and Democracy/Movement for Renewal (AJD/MR)

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact