Opposition win election in Denmark


The Blue bloc has won a narrow victory over the Red bloc in yesterday’s general election in Denmark. Of the 179 seats in the Danish parliament or Folketing the centre-right Blue bloc took 90 seats (52.3%) and the Red bloc took 85 seats (47.7%) leading to Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt conceding defeat and standing down as the leader of the centre-left Social Democrats (A).

The Social Democrats remain the largest party with 47 seats (26.3%) whilst their centre-right rivals Lars Løkke Rasmussen’s Venstre (V) won 34 seats (19.5%). The right-wing anti-immigration and Eurosceptic Danish People’s Party (O) is the second largest party in the new parliament with 37 seats (21.1%).

The other parties in the Red bloc, the centre-left Danish Social Liberal Party (B) won eight seats and 4.6% of the vote, the left-wing Socialist People’s Party (F) took seven seats with 4.2%, the far-left anti-capitalist Red-Green Alliance (Ø) took 14 seats with 7.8% and the centre-left and green The Alternative (Å) have nine seats and 4.8%.

The other parties in the Blue camp, the centre-right Liberal Alliance (I) won 13 seats and 7.5% of the vote, the centre-right Conservative People’s Party (C) took six seats and 3.4% and the centrist Christian Democrats (K) failed to win any seats.

Ironically Thorning-Schmidt’s Social Democrats increased their tally of seats by three whilst Venstre dropped 13 seats, but it was their allies who decided the issue with the Social Liberals losing nine seats and the Socialist People’s Party also down nine seats.

Although Lars Løkke Rasmussen will now attempt to form a new centre-right coalition government, this will be an impossible task without the Danish People’s Party which so far has declined to join any government.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact