Sri Lanka

Parliament dissolved with election on 17th August


The state run Daily News newspaper has reported this morning that President Maithripala Sirisena dissolved Parliament last night in readiness for a general election. The newspaper also reports the Election Commission as saying that the general election will be held on 17th August.

In January this year Maithripala Sirisena won the presidential election with the support of the opposition United National Party (UNP). UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe became Prime Minister even though his party commanded only 60 seats in the 225 seat parliament but took a large part of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party with them.

At the last general election in 2010 the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) led United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) won 144 seats (+39) and the UNP led United National Front (UNF) took 60 seats (-22). The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) won 14 seats (-8) and the Democratic National Alliance won seven seats (+7).

The new parliament is expected to convene on 1st September.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact