East Timor

Parliamentary election 7th July


President José Ramos-Horta has set the date for parliamentary elections in East Timor as 7th July.

The announcement, made yesterday, comes as the second round runoff for the presidential election takes place next Monday 16th April between Francisco Guterres of the Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (FRETILIN) and Taur Matan Ruak (José Maria Vasconcelos) an independent and former general.

In the 2007 general election the left wing nationalist Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (FRETILIN) took 21 of the 65 seats in the National Parliament of East Timor. The second largest party was the social democratic centre-left National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction (CNRT) with 18 seats.

An alliance of the Social Democratic Party (PSD) and the Timorese Social Democratic Association (ASDT) took 11 seats between them coming third and the Democratic Party (PD) took fourth place with eight seats. The eventual government was a CNRT led coalition.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com