Parliamentary election set for 11th December


Macedonia’s parliament has voted to dissolve itself and move to parliamentary elections set for 11th December. The vote was passed by 110 – 0 with no abstentions in the 123 seat Assembly of the Republic of Macedonia.

The elections were originally due to be held on 24th April and then on 5th June as part of a European Union brokered agreement to end opposition resistance to the centre-right government of Prime Minister Nikola Gruevski’s Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization – Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity (VMRO-DPMNE).

The previous election was held in 2014 and normally the next election would have been held in 2019. In the 2014 vote the VPMO-DPMNE coalition won 61 of the 123 seats and the main opposition centre-left Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM) won 34 seats. The centre-right Democratic Union for Integration (DUI) took 19 seats and the Democratic Party of Albanians (DPA) won seven seats with two other parties taking one seat each.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact