Phase three of Uttar Pradesh polls


The third phase of the marathon election in the state of Uttar Pradesh starts today. Around 17.5 million people will be voting from a choice of 1,018 candidates for 56 seats across 10 districts.

The ten districts involved are Allahabad, Bhadoi, Chandauli, Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj (CSM) Nagar, Jaunpur, Kaushambi, Mirzapur, Sonbhadra, Sultanpur and Varanasi.

There are 11,607 polling centres(18,374 polling booths) across the districts with three state Cabinet ministers and 14 former ministers vying for the positions. Polls opened at 7 a.m.

Indian newspapers are highlighting the large number of candidates with criminal cases against them in the Uttar Pradesh state election – around a third of all candidates.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact