PM presents his new Cabinet


Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah has presented his new Cabinet which consists of 15 members. This will be the prime minister’s sixth Cabinet since taking office in 2011 and follows the general election which took place on 26th November.

The full list of the new Cabinet as sourced from Asharq al-Awsat is as follows:

Sabah Al-Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs
Mohammad Al-Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defence
Khaled Al-Jarrah Al-Sabah Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Interior
Anas Nasser Al-Saleh Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
Mohammad Al-Abdullah Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs
Salman Sabah Al-Salem Al-Humoud Al-Sabah Minister of Information and Minister of State for Youth Affairs
Hind Barrak Al-Sabeeh Minister of Social Affairs and Labour and Minister of State
for Economic Affairs
Yaser Abul Minister of State for Housing Affairs and Minister of State
for Utilities
Jamal Mansour Al-Harbi Minister of Health
Khaled Nasser Abdullah Al-Roudan Minister Commerce and Industry
Abdulrahman Abdulkareem Al-Mutawa Minister Public Works
Essam Abdulmohsen Al-Marzouq Minister of Electricity and Water and Minister of Oil
Faleh Abdullah Al-Azeb Minister Justice and the Minister of State for National
Assembly Affairs
Mohammad Abdulatif Al-Fares Minister of Education and Minister of Higher Education
Mohammad Nasser Al-Jabri Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs and Minister of State
for the Municipality

The new Cabinet has to be approved by the National Assembly of which, after the general election, 24 of the 50 seats are held by opposition members.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com