Polling day in AJK


Today is polling day for the ninth Azad Jammu and Kashmir Assembly state elections. This self governing state assembly has 49 members for whom 41 seats were scheduled for election, with an additional eight seats reserved for women and technocrats. Of the 41 seats, 29 are from the state itself and 12 seats are reserved for refugees.

As of Saturday 25th June, elections in three constituencies have been postponed due to problems with registration and security reasons; they are LA-41, LA-30 and LA-35.

There are 421 candidates contesting from 22 parties with an electorate of 3,017,816 voting across 5,559 polling stations.

The main parties contesting are the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) of Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, the Muslim Conference and the Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N).

The last election was in 2006.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact