Preliminary results of 30th April general election published


The Shiite State of Law coalition led by Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki has emerged as the largest bloc in the new parliament according to preliminary results published by the electoral commission yesterday. The bloc has increased its representation from 89 seats in the last parliament to 92 seats in the 328 seat Council of Representatives as a result of the 30th April general election.

That means that the Prime Minister’s bloc beat back opposition from two other Shiite parties, the Sadrist Movement of Muqtadā al-Sadr which won 28 seats down from 40 seats in the previous parliament and the Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (ISCI or SIIC), which won 29 seats, up from 12 seats in 2009.

The secular National Coalition (Wataniya List) led by Iyad Allawi won 21 seats in the next parliament.

The Sunni Mutahidoun bloc (also United for Reform), headed by Parliamentary Speaker Osama al-Nujaifi, obtained 23 seats.

Deputy Prime Minister Saleh al-Mutlaq’s Arabiya List won 10 seats.

Of the Kurdish parties, the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) won 19 seats, up from 17 seats whilst the Kurdistan Democratic Party (PDK) won 19, down from 26 seats. The Movement for Change (Gorran)/Change List won nine seats up one seat from 2009. And the Kurdistan Islamic Union retained its four seats.

Final results will be announced after the commission has finished processing all claims and objections.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact