President elected for further five years


Sudan’s National Election Commission (NEC) has announced that incumbent President Omer Hassan al-Bashir has been re-elected for a further five year term. The President assumed office in June 1989 and was elected this time with 94.05% of the vote but on a low turnout due to the boycotting of the elections by the main opposition parties. The vote was extended for a further day because of the low turnout and lasted from 13th to 16th April.

The conduct of the election has been criticised by the United States, European Union and a number of international agencies.

The President will now have to tackle a flagging economy and armed conflicts in Darfur, South Kordofan and the Blue Nile states which have seen large numbers of civilians displaced and killed.

Although we could find no official results the Sudan Tribune reports that al-Bashir’s National Congress Party (NCP) had won 323 of the 426 seats contested for the National Assembly. The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) of Mohamed Osman al-Mirghani won 25 seats and the DUP of Jalal al-Digair won 15 seats. A further 19 independents also picked up seats.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact