Results for Presidential election


With 97.71% of polling stations having reported the results for the presidential election have been published on the Uganda Electoral Commission website.

Of 13,954,129 registered voters the number casting their vote was 8,128,098 giving a turnout of 58.25%. Candidates polled as follows:

Yoweri Museveni NRM 68.28%
Kizza Besigye FDC 26.12%
Norbert Mao DP 1.89%
Olara Otunnu UPC 1.54%
Beti Kamya UFA .67%
Abed Bwanika PDP .65%
Jaberi Bidandi PPP .44%
Samuel Lubega Independent .42%

Therefore the incumbent president Yoweri Museveni will be re-elected without having to go to a second round.

The President’s party, the National Resistance Movement (NRM) are also ahead in the general election. An analysis of the NRM manifesto will be given in the February edition of PSR (Political Situation Report).

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact