Ruling Progressive Coalition wins Majlis majority


The ruling Progressive Coalition of incumbent President Abdulla Yameen has won a majority in the parliamentary elections which took place on Saturday.

Preliminary results suggest that the parties in the government coalition have won 47 of the 85 seats in the Majlis. The opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) looks set to have secured around 23 seats, down from 26 seats in the 77 seat parliament in 2009.

The ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) has won around 33 seats and their coalition partners, the Jumhooree Party (JP) looks set to take 14 seats. Other smaller parties of the coalition may well have picked up some extra seats as well.

Final results should be known within the next day or two.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact