Rwanda to hold legislative election over three days


A general election will take place over the next three days (16th – 18th September) for the 80 member Chamber of Deputies. Of the 80 Deputies 53 will be elected by all 5,953,531 eligible voters today (16th September) from 410 candidates.

Tomorrow 24 female Deputies will be elected by women committee members at all levels, and district and sector council members.

On Wednesday elections for youth and people with disabilities will be held. The electoral commission factsheet states that “Two MPs are elected by National Youth Councils at district and national levels as well as eight student representatives from secondary schools and eight from higher learning institutions; One MP is elected by representatives of district, provincial, national Councils of People with Disabilities”.

There are eleven political parties registered with the electoral commission. The Ideal Democratic Party (PDI), Party for Progress and Concord (PPC), Rwanda Socialist Party (PSR) and Centrist Democratic Party (PDC) have formed a coalition with the ruling Rwanda Patriotic Front (RPF-Inkotanyi).

The RPF coalition won 42 of the 80 seats in the 2008 election with the Social Democratic Party (PSD) winning seven seats and the Liberal Party (PL).

The Democratic Green Party of Rwanda (DGPR) has decided to boycott the election. Other parties are the Democratic Union of the People of Rwanda (UDPR), Party for Solidarity and Progress (PSP) and PS-Imberakuli.

Polling stations are open from 7am to 3pm local time and provisional results are expected by Friday 20th September with final results by 25th September.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact