Second and final phase of Shura elections


Today sees the second and final phase of the Shura Council (upper house) elections in Egypt. Polling takes place over two days, today and tomorrow and when completed will conclude the parliamentary elections for Egypt which started on 28th November last year.

Phase Two of the Shura Council elections will be held in 14 provinces including, Aswan, Beheira, Beni Suef, Giza, Ismailia, Kafr El-Sheikh, Luxor, Matruh, Minya, Port Said, Qalyubia, Sharquiya, Sohag and Suez.

Around 25 million electors will be voting to fill 90 places in the upper house.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact