Senate election completed


Provisional results for the indirect elections to the Senate have been published. In total 12 of the 26 Senators were up for election by a limited electoral college made up of local government representatives.

There were 51 candidates for the 12 seats and the provisional results of those elected are as follows:

Northern Province – electoral college 429

Evariste Bizimana
Narcisse Musabyeyezu

Western Province – electoral college not known

Marie Therese Kagoyire Bishagara
Apolinaire Mushinzimana
Dr. Jean Nepo Sindikubwabo

Southern Province – electoral college 61 votes

Marie Claire Mukasine
Dr. Jean Damascene Bizimana
Gallican Niyongana

Eastern Province – electoral college 459 votes

Donatille Mukabalisa
Michel Rugema
Celestin Sebuhoro

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact