Slovenia votes in snap poll


Slovenians will go to the polls today in early elections. The last elections were held in 2011 but the country has suffered from political instability ever since. A first coalition government was formed consisting of the Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS), Civic List (DL), Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS), Slovenian People’s Party (SLS), and New Slovenia (NSi.) led by Janez Janša of the SDS. However, that government collapsed in February 2013 after Janša was tried and convicted of corruption.

A new government was formed by Positive Slovenia (PS) with the Social Democrats (SD), Civic List (DL) and Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS) with PS leader Alenka Bratušek as Prime Minister. That government collapsed after the original founder of Positive Slovenia Zoran Janković seized the leadership of the party in late April. Alenka Bratušek resigned as Prime Minister but the other coalition partners were unwilling to form a government with Zoran Janković at the head. This triggered the current election with President Borut Pahor dissolving the National Assembly on 2nd June.

Two new parties emerged from the confusion. Alenka Bratušek left Positive Slovenia and established the Alliance of Alenka Bratušek (ZaAB) on 31st May and a Professor of Law at the University of Ljubljana, Miro Cerar, formed the Party of Miro Cerar (SMC) on 2nd June.

The last opinion polls published on Thursday suggest that the Party of Miro Cerar (SMC) leads with around 32% of the vote. In second place is the Democratic Party (SDS) which is on around 24%.

If the polls are correct then the Pensioners’ Party (DeSUS) will receive around 11%, the Social Democrats (SD) will be on 8% and New Slovenia (NSi) on 6%. The Alliance of Alenka Bratušek (ZaAB) could get as much as 5% and the Peoples’ Party (SLS) 4%. The threshold for parliamentary representation is 4%.

There are around 1.7 million eligible voters voting for 1,100 candidates contesting 90 seats in the National Assembly. Although there are 17 parties and list standing, around six parties are expected to cross the 4% threshold. Polling stations are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact