Snap general election today


Macedonians finally get to vote for a new parliament today after two years of wrangling between the opposition and the government in one of the longest running political crises the country has ever seen. An interim administration has run the country since October as part of the European Union brokered deal.

There are 1,784,416 eligible voters who will be voting at 3,478 polling stations between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. local time. They are voting in six districts, each of which elects 20 MPs to the Sobranie or Assembly of the Republic of Macedonia. There are 20,573 out of country voters across 48 polling stations in overseas missions who will elect up to three additional members bringing the total to a potential 123 members.

In the 2014 general election the ruling centre-right Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization – Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity (VMRO-DPMNE) led coalition won 65 seats whilst the opposition centre-left Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM) won 34 seats and the centre-left Democratic Union for Integration (DUI) won 19 seats. Smaller ethnic based parties won the remaining seats.

In the presidential election Gjorge Ivanov of the VMRO-DPMNE won with 55.28% of the vote whilst Stevo Pendarovski of the SDSM took 41.14%. The next presidential election is scheduled for 2019.

In this election there are six political parties and five coalitions taking part with 1,092 candidates standing in 58 lists.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact