Taiwan elections to be held on 16th January 2016


Taiwan will hold its Presidential and 9th legislative elections on 16th January 2016 according to a press release published by the Central Election Commission (CEC).

The last elections were held in January 2012 when Ma Ying-jeou was elected President for a second term; he will not be eligible to stand again. His Kuomintang party (KMT) won 64 of the 113 seats in the Legislative Yuan and their Pan-Blue coalition took 69 seats. The Pan-Green coalition was led by the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP). The DPP won 40 seats and their coalition won 43 seats.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com