Togo votes for a new President


A total of 3,529,780 voters will go to the polls today to elect a President in Togo. Incumbent President Faure Gnassingbé of the Union for the Republic (UNIR) is seeking a third term in office and is expected to win despite increasing unhappiness with the government. If he does win then his family will have been in power in the small West African country since 1967; his father Gnassingbé Eyadéma was President from 14th April 1967 until 5th February 2005 when he died of a heart attack.

The 8,994 polling stations opened at 7 a.m. local time and land borders have been closed from 2100 GMT on Friday until 0600 GMT on Sunday. The voters will be able to choose from four other candidates.

Jean Pierre Fabre; Combat for Political Change (CAP 2015)

Mohamed Tchassona-Traoré; Patriotic Movement for Democracy and Development (MCD)

Gerry Tamaa; New Togolese Commitment (NET)

Aimé Gogué; Alliance of Democrats for Integral Development (ADDI)

The President’s main challenger is Jean-Pierre Fabre of the main opposition Union of the Forces of Change (UFC), who is fighting the election under a five-party coalition called Combat for Political Change (CAP 2015).

Six parties are boycotting this election whilst three other parties have told their supporters to vote for Gnassingbé.

In the 2010 Presidential election Gnassingbé won with 60.9% of the vote and Jean Pierre Fabre came second with 33.9%. There is no second round in Togo, the candidate with the most votes wins.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact