Vanuatu Presidential election on 17th September


Vanuatu has called a Presidential election for 17th September. This is an indirect election with the Electoral College being made up of the 52 Members of Parliament and the six Presidents of Provincial Councils.

President Johnson Iolou Abbil’s term of office ended on 2nd September. The acting president is the Speaker of Parliament, Philip Boedoro. A total of 23 candidates have submitted nominations for the Head of State position which is largely ceremonial.

In 2009 eleven candidates stood for election and Iolou Abil won in the third round with 41 votes to Kalkot Mataskelekele’s 16 votes.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact