VMRO – DPMNE win Presidential and Legislative election


Prime Minister Nikola Gruevski and his centre-right Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization – Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity (VMRO – DPMNE) have won the general election, which took place yesterday, according to results published on the State Election Commission website.

The results are for 99.91% of all polling stations and they give VMRO – DPMNE 42.18% of the vote which equates to 61 seats, just short of achieving an absolute majority in the 123 seat Sobranie (Parliament). In 2011 they won 56 seats with 38.98% of the vote.

The main centre-left opposition party, the Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM) took 34 seats and 24.91%, that’s down from 2011 when they managed 42 seats and 32.78% of the vote.

In third place is the ethnic Albanian Democratic Union for Integration (DUI or BDI) which won 19 seats and 13.48% of the vote. That compares with 2011 when they took 15 seats and 10.24%.

Three other parties won seats in this new parliament, the Democratic Party of Albanians (DPA or PDSH) won seven seats (down one seat), Citizen Option for Macedonia (GROM) took one seat and the National Democratic Revival (RDK) won one seat.

Turnout was 64%.

There had been a concern that turnout for the Presidential election second round, which had to be at least 40% of registered voters might not be reached, but in the end turnout was 54.33%.

The result was a victory for incumbent President Gjorge Ivanov of VMRO – DPMNE who took 55.25% of the vote (534,154) whilst his opponent SDSM candidate Stevo Pendarovski won 398,008 votes and 41.17% of the vote.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact