Voting for Majlis al Shura


Oman votes today for the 84 members of the Majlis al-Shura, the lower house in the bicameral parliament.

Around 518,000 voters will be entitled to vote in 105 election centres from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. local time. There are 1,133 candidates standing of whom 77 are women.

There are no political parties in Oman and the candidates are all non-partisans or independents. The Majlis al-Shura was granted some legislative and oversight powers by Sultan Qaboos bin Said Al Said in March this year.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact