Cabinet posts announced


President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has been announcing her new Cabinet positions since last Friday. There are more announcements to come, but the key posts are now completed and will be subject to approval by parliament.

The president, in her address to parliament on Monday, said that the key drivers for the next term of office will be building the economy, land reform, ethnic strife and inadequate communication between the government and the people.

She said that the economy grew by around 7% in 2011 and is expected to grow by 9% this year. She also stated that iron-ore exports had begun.

The list of Cabinet members known so far are as follows:

Amara Konneh Minister of Finance
Augustine K Ngafuan Minister of Foreign Affairs and Dean of the Cabinet
Cllr. Christiana Tah Minister of Justice
Brownie Samukai Minister of National Defence
Blamo Nelson Minister of Internal Affairs
Samuel Kofi Woods Minister of Public Works
Patrick Sendolo Minister of Land, Mines and Energy
Dr Florence Chenoweth Minister of Agriculture
Dr Walter Gwenigale Minister of Health and Social Welfare
Dr Frederick Norkeh Minister of Post and Telecommunications
Lewis Brown Minister for Information, Culture and Tourism

Deputy Minister Jerolinmek Piah will become the new Press Secretary to the President.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact