Cabinet reshuffle brings in opposition


Egypt’s military council has appointed eleven new ministers.  The new ministers include opposition politicians but three Mubarak loyalists remain; Prime Minister Ahmed Shafik, Foreign Minister Ahmed Aboul Gheit and Justice Minister Mamdouh Marei.

The new ministers were sworn in by the Head of the Supreme Council of Armed Forces, Hussein Tantawi.  The new ministers, as listed on the Egyptian government website, are:

• Dr. Yehia El-Gamal, Vice Prime Minister for the National Dialogue
• Dr. Amr Ezzat Salama, Minister of Scientific Research and Technology
• Dr. Samir El-Sayiad, Minister of Trade and Industry
• Dr. Ahmed Gamal El-Din Moussa, Minister of Higher Education and Education
• Dr. Maged Othman, Minister of Communications
• Dr. Gouda Abdel Khalek, Minister of Social Solidarity and Justice
• Mounir Fakhry Abdel Nour, Minister of Tourism
• Eng. Mohamed Abdel Moneim El-Sawy, Minister of Culture
• Dr. Ashraf Mahmoud Ibrahim Hatem, Minister of Health and Population
• Eng. Mahmoud Latif Mahmoud Amer, Minister of Petroleum
• Isamel Ibrahim Fahmy, Minister of Manpower and Migration

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact