First Humala Cabinet sworn in


President Ollanta Humala has sworn in his full Cabinet which consists of 18 new ministers. Following his inauguration on Thursday, 69% of Peruvians felt ‘confident, optimistic, enthusiastic and proud’ according to an Imasen poll published in Andina the Peruvian news agency.

The first meeting of the new Cabinet was held yesterday, Saturday to work on new legislative initiatives which the new government considers urgent.

The full Cabinet is as follows:

Salomón Lerner Ghitis Prime Minister
Rafael Roncagliolo Foreign Minister
Daniel Mora Defence Minister
Luis Miguel Castilla Finance Minister
Oscar Valdes Interior Minister
Francisco Eguiguren Justice Minister
Patricia Salas Education Minister
Alberto Tejada Health Minister
Miguel Caillaux Agriculture Minister
Rudecindo Vega Labor Minister
Jose Luis Silva Foreign Trade and Tourism Minister
Carlos Herrera Energy and Mines Minister
Carlos Paredes Transport and Communications Minister
Kurt Burneo Production Minister
Rene Cornejo Housing Minister
Aida Garcia Women and Social Development Minister
Ricardo Giesecke Environment Minister
Susana Baca Culture Minister
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact