Kenny announces new Irish Cabinet


Newly elected Taoiseach, Enda Kenny has today (9 March) announced his cabinet. The announcement was made in the Dáil following his return from seeing President Mary McAleese to receive his seal of office.

The line-up is as follows:

Eamon Gilmore Tánaiste* & Foreign Affairs and Trade
Michael Noonan Finance
Ruairi Quinn Education and skills
Richard Bruton Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation
Frances Fitzgerald Children
James Reilly Health
Phil Hogan Environment, Community and Local Government
Leo Vardakar Transport, Tourism and Sport
Jimmy Deenihan Arts, Heritage and Gaeltacht Affairs
Paul Keogh Chief Whip
Alan Shatter Justice, Equality and Defence
Simon Coveney Agriculture, Marine and Food
Joan Burton Social Protection
Pat Rabbitte Communicatuions, Energy and Natural Resources
Brendan Howlin Public Expenditure and Reform
Willie Penrose Super Junior Minister at Department at Environment
  with responsibility for Housing and Planning (will sit at Cabinet)

*Deputy Prime Minister


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact