MDC-T win Speaker contest


The candidate proposed by Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangiri’s Movement for Democratic Change (MDC-T), Lovemore Moyo has beaten off a Zanu-PF opponent to become the next Speaker of the Zimbabwean parliament.

The result is all the more remarkable because three MDC MPs are currently under arrest for various charges and prior to that the House was evenly matched. This means that some Zanu-PF MPs must have voted for Lovemore Moyo.

The result was Lovemore Moyo 105 votes and Simon Khaya Moyo 93 votes.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com