Monsoon session starts today


India’s parliament meets for its Monsoon session today and will last for 39 days. With the success of the presidential and vice-presidential elections under its belt as well as a new Finance Minister, the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) appears re-invigorated and has set a record 32 bills for introduction.

The opposition National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will seek to take to task the government over recent industrial unrest, ethic violence in Assam, price increases and the massive power outage which affected 600 million Indians.

In the last session of parliament between 12th March and 21st May the government managed to pass 21 bills. The list for this session as published in Day and Night News is as follows:

Bills for introduction:

1. The Lokpal Bill, 2011
2. The National Food Security Bill, 2011
3. The Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (Amendment) Bill, 2011
4. The Prevention of Money Laundering (Amendment) Bill, 2011
5. The Benami Transactions (Prohibition) Bill, 2011
6. The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Amendment) Bill, 2011
7. The Indecent Representation of Women (Prohibition) Amendment Bill, 2011
8. The Agriculture Bio-Security Bill, 2011
9. The Nuclear Regulatory Authority Bill, 2011
10. The Biotechnology Regulatory Authority of India Bill, 2011
11. The Regional Centre for Biotechnology Bill, 2011
12. The Electronic Service Delivery Bill, 2011
13. The Warehousing Corporation (Amendment) Bill, 2011
14. The Companies (Amendment) Bill, 2011
15. The Wildlife (Protection) Amendment Bill, 2011
16. The Indian Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2011
17. The National Commission for Human Resources for Health Bill, 2011
18. The Customs Law (Amendment and Validation) Bill, 2011
19. The Boarder Security Force (Amendment) Bill, 2011
20. The National Academic Depository (Amendment) Bill, 2011.
21. The National Council for Higher Education and Research Bill, 2011
22. The Universities for Innovation Bill, 2011
23. The Press and Registration of Books and Publications Bill, 2010
24. The Inter State Migrant Workmen (Regulation of Employment & Conditions of Service) (Amendment) Bill, 2011
25. The Administrator’s General (Amendment) Bill, 2011
26. The Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Bill, 2011
27. The Emigration Management Bill, 2011
28. The Damodar Valley Corporation (Amendment) Bill, 2011
29. The Passengers Security Bill, 2011
30. The Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development Bill, 2011
31. The National Sports Development Bill, 2011
32. Bill relating to Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement.

Bills for introduction, consideration and passing

1. The Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Bill, 2011
2. The Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Kancheepuram Bill, 2011.

Bills for consideration and passing

1. The Seeds Bill, 2004
2. The Constitution (One Hundred and Eleventh Amendment) Bill, 2009
3. The Pesticides Management Bill, 2008
4. The Company Secretaries (Amendment) Bill, 2010
5. The Chartered Accountants (Amendment) Bill, 2010
6. The Cost and Works Accountants (Amendment) Bill, 2010
7. The National Commission for Heritage Sites Bill, 2009
8. The State Bank of India (Subsidiary Banks Laws) Amendment Bill, 2009
9. The Coinage Bill, 2011, as passed by Lok Sabha
10. The Jawaharlal Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education and Research, Pudducherry (Amendment) Bill, 2010
11. The Transplantation of Human Organs (Amendment) Bill, 2009
12. The National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences, Bangalore, Bill, 2010
13. The New Delhi Municipal Council (Amendment) Bill, 2010
14. The Orissa (Alteration of Name) Bill, 2011 (as returned by Rajya Sabha with amendments)
15. The Constitution (One Hundred Thirteenth Amendment) Bill, 2011 (as returned by Rajya Sabha with amendments)
16. The Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Amendment Bill, 2010
17. The Educational Tribunals Bill, 2010 (as passed by Lok Sabha)
18. The Institute of Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2011 (as passed by Lok Sabha)
19. The Architects (Amendment) Bill, 2010
20. The National Institute of Technology (Amendment) Bill, 2010
21. The Copyright (Amendment) Bill, 2010
22. The Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Amendment) Bill, 2010
23. The National Council for Teacher Education (Amendment) Bill, 2010
24. The Prasar Bharati (Broadcasting Corporation of India) Amendment Bill, 2010
25. The Constitution (One Hundred and Fourteenth Amendment) Bill, 2010
26. The Constitution (One Hundred and Eighth Amendment) Bill, 2010 (as passed by Rajya Sabha)
27. The Commercial Division of High Courts Bill, 2009. (as passed by Lok Sabha)
28. The Constitution (One Hundred and Tenth Amendment) Bill, 2009.
29. The Constitution (One Hundred and Twelfth Amendment) Bill, 2009
30. The Petroleum and Minerals Pipelines (Acquisition of Right to User in Land) Amendment Bill, 2010
31. The Railway Property (Unlawful Possession) Amendment Bill, 2008
32. The Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research Bill, 2010
33. The Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Amendment Bill, 2010
34. The Chemical Weapons Convention (Amendment) Bill, 2010
35. The Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill, 2007.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact