Mursi appoints ten new governors


Ten new provincial governors have been appointed by President Mohamed Mursi. Although the president’s office announced that all had been chosen on merit rather than political affiliation, at least three are known to be members of the Muslim Brotherhood. They have taken up governorships in Minya, Kafr el-Sheikh and Manufiya. A further three of the new governors are former army generals and their appointments are in Suez, Red Sea and North Sinai, all key areas in terms of security after militants killed 16 border guards in Sinai last month.

Egypt is divided into 27 provinces and governorships were traditionally given as a reward for service under the Mubarak regime. These appointments are seen by some as a move to strengthen President Mursi’s position as he introduces new policies. The Shura Council has also appointed a number of ultra-conservative Islamists to human rights and media councils recently.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact