New government named


Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has named his new government. In a press statement published through the government web portal, the statement says that the Prime Minister and his colleagues will be sworn in on Saturday 21st May at 7.30 p.m. local time.

Eleven of the fourteen ministries have new ministers, with nine ministers leaving the government and seven new ministers appointed.

The list as published by the government website is:

Mr Lee Hsien Loong Prime Minister
Mr Teo Chee Hean Deputy Prime Minister & Coordinating Minister for National Security
  & Minister for Home Affairs
Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam Deputy Prime Minister & Minister for Finance & Minister for Manpower
Mr Lim Hng Kiang Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr Lim Swee Say Minister, Prime Minister’s Office
Assoc Prof Yaacob Ibrahim Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts
Mr Khaw Boon Wan Minister for National Development
Dr Ng Eng Hen Minister for Defence
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan Minister for the Environment and Water Resources
Mr K Shanmugam Minister for Foreign Affairs & Minister for Law
Mr Gan Kim Yong Minister for Health
Mr Lui Tuck Yew Minister for Transport & Second Minister for Foreign Affairs
Mr S Iswaran Minister, Prime Minister’s Office & Second Minister for Home Affairs
  & Second Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr Heng Swee Keat Minister for Education
MG(NS) Chan Chun Sing Ag Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports & Minister of
  State, Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact